casatree.blogg.se

Gameboy dmg resetting on it's own
Gameboy dmg resetting on it's own





gameboy dmg resetting on it
  1. #GAMEBOY DMG RESETTING ON IT'S OWN HOW TO#
  2. #GAMEBOY DMG RESETTING ON IT'S OWN MOD#
  3. #GAMEBOY DMG RESETTING ON IT'S OWN MODS#

That was nothing compared to the two screens.

#GAMEBOY DMG RESETTING ON IT'S OWN MOD#

That’s a common mod that people do it's called a DS Macro.

gameboy dmg resetting on it

"Making the Game Boy longer for no reason" was a tricky one because I had to manufacture a longer case. It wasn't adding more stuff so that one was quite an easy one. The second one was "Giving the DS one screen for no reason." That video, actually, I managed to bash out in two days because it was just removing stuff. You’ve got to wait for the primer to fully dry and then for the paint to fully dry, so I would say that one video was probably about two weeks of solid work. The whole painting process takes two days.

#GAMEBOY DMG RESETTING ON IT'S OWN MODS#

Ryan: How long does one of these mods actually take you?Įlliot: There's wait time involved, you know, glue hardening, body filler hardening, spray painting, primer. “The most grueling thing I've ever done.” The fact that I got it to work was just… Yeah, it was just a moment to behold. Then I rang my friend Stuart Ashen and just flipped. No one was able to tell me that it would work or not. So 32 wires, 64 connections, and then there was a chance it wasn't gonna work. Which, if I remember, was something like 32 pins on each screen, so 64 connections on a thing that's smaller than an inch long. Then it came to the soldering, because it was getting two screens - "Giving the Game Boy another screen for no reason" was the title - I had to solder that top screen to the bottom screen because, obviously, there wasn't a connection for it to just plug in. Most people would probably use a 3D printer, but I didn't have that. So I then proceeded to just go for it, which involved case manufacturing using limited tools, limited experience, super glue, toilet roll, my first time using body filler, spray paint.

#GAMEBOY DMG RESETTING ON IT'S OWN HOW TO#

Ryan: Did you consult with anyone on how to accomplish that?Įlliot: I’d spoken to a few people, who were very technically minded but couldn't give me a definitive answer. So then I uploaded a sneak preview of some stuff I was doing on my Twitter and that same week I released the video "Giving the Game Boy Advance SP another screen for no reason." So then that has four-hundred thousand views, and I thought 'This has done quite well, I'll make another one.'

gameboy dmg resetting on it

Then I put out a post on Community saying that six months before I said I wanted to make this and six months later I'm now gonna make it. It got like 1800 likes, which is not a lot of likes now, but back then that was probably one of the most liked posts I'd ever made. It wasn't a real thing I just said I wanted to make it. It had two screens, one on top of the other, but it was only a Photoshopped thing.

gameboy dmg resetting on it

Ryan: What gave you the idea for your first big mod "Giving the GameBoy Advance SP another screen for no reason"?Įlliot: I stumbled across this picture nine months ago and I put it up on my Community tab on my YouTube Channel saying 'I want to make this.' It was a picture of a Game Boy Advance SP in red. A friendly and quite thoughtful one, it ends up. He's also produced " Giving the Nintendo DS one screen for no reason," " I made a left handed GameBoy for no reason," and " The Gintendo Bame Noy." There's also the one-two punch of " I made the GameBoy longer for no reason" and " 1200 GameBoy Games in 1," in which he creates a Game Boy long enough to play baseball with.Īfter months of discussing his work in the Input office (and our Slack, post pandemic), I finally decided to reach out and discover just what kind of a mind could produce such singular works of genius. One such madman is Elliot Coll of The Retro Future.Ĭoll, who was already well known in the retro gaming community for his repairs and restorations on YouTube, is probably best known for his video " Giving the GameBoy Advance SP another screen for no reason," in which he does precisely that. There are a lot less people tearing old video game hardware apart and turning them into absurd, borderline nihilistic, works of art. There are a lot of people on YouTube reviewing old video games.







Gameboy dmg resetting on it's own